Notion passed 100 million users in August 2024, per Notion’s own company blog announcement. Annualized revenue crossed $500 million by September 2025, when co-founder Akshay Kothari confirmed the figure to CNBC. Four months later, on January 26, 2026, Notion announced a $270 million private tender offer at an $11 billion valuation, with GIC joining Sequoia Capital and Index Ventures.
Notion Labs is private and files no audited financials, so every headline figure below traces back to a Notion press announcement, a company blog post, or an on-the-record interview. The one metric that changes the shape of the growth story is AI-enabled ARR, which Notion has now confirmed publicly.
Key Takeaways
- Notion reached 100 million users in August 2024, roughly a decade after the company was founded in 2013.
- Annualized revenue crossed $500 million by September 2025.
- More than 50% of Notion’s ARR came from AI-enabled customers by the end of 2025, and that share more than doubled over the prior 12 months.
- In January 2026, a tender offer valued Notion at $11 billion, up from the $10 billion post-money set at its 2021 Series C.
- Notion employs about 1,000 people and says roughly 90% of the business comes from multiplayer team usage, per Akshay Kothari’s September 2025 CNBC interview.
- Notion said 80% of its users were international, spread across 28 countries at the time of its $275 million Series C in October 2021.
Editor’s Choice
- 100 million registered Notion users as of the August 2024 milestone Notion announced on the company blog.
- $500 million in annualized revenue reported by Notion to CNBC in September 2025.
- $11 billion valuation set by the January 2026 tender offer, up from $10 billion at Series C.
- $270 million total tender value, with GIC joining Sequoia and Index as returning backers.
- About $330 million raised in total since founding, with company cash on hand exceeding that number as of September 2025.
- 20 minutes of autonomous work per task after the Notion 3.0 launch on September 18, 2025.
Notion User Milestones by Year
- Notion crossed 1 million users in early 2020, per Notion’s September 2024 blog post.
- Notion said daily active users grew 4x worldwide in the year leading up to its October 2021 Series C.
- 80% of Notion users were international, spread across 28 countries at the October 2021 Series C.
- Notion reached 100 million users in August 2024, roughly 10 years after its founding in 2013.
- Notion still cited “over 100 million users” in its September 2025 CNBC interview.
- Japan alone posted 500% daily-active-user growth in the year leading up to the 2021 Series C.
By the numbers: Notion needed roughly 10 years to grow from its 2013 founding to the 100 million users Notion announced in September 2024. The gap between registered users and paying customers is the number aggregators keep collapsing.
How many people use Notion?
Notion says it passed 100 million users in August 2024, a figure it announced in the “100 million people now use Notion” blog post. The same “over 100 million users” phrasing was repeated in Notion’s September 2025 comments to CNBC. Notion has not, as of this writing, disclosed a public split between free registered accounts, monthly actives, and paying seats. Read the 100-million number as registered accounts unless the source explicitly says otherwise.
Notion Revenue and ARR Trajectory
- Notion crossed $500 million in annualized revenue by September 2025 (CNBC).
- More than 50% of ARR came from AI-enabled customers by end-2025 (Notion blog, January 2026).
- Akshay Kothari told CNBC the business was “doubling this year and likely going to double the sales team next year.”
- CNBC ranked Notion 34th on its 2025 Disruptor 50 list.
| Reporting moment | Annualized revenue (USD millions) |
|---|---|
| September 2025 (total, per CNBC) | 500 |
| End of 2025: AI-enabled ARR (derived, more than 50% of $500 million) | 250 |
Source: CNBC (September 18, 2025) and Notion Labs company blog (January 26, 2026).
Key finding: CNBC ranked Notion 34th on its 2025 Disruptor 50 list, citing $500 million annualized revenue and AI-driven acceleration. Notion is one of the few AI-boom beneficiaries whose growth story is self-funded, not the product of a fresh mega-round.
What is Notion’s revenue?
As of September 2025, Notion’s most recent disclosed revenue figure is roughly $500 million on an annualized basis, with the company saying it expects that number to double this year. Notion has not published a full-year 2025 revenue figure, but attributes the acceleration to AI adoption that drove more than 50% of ARR by year-end.
Recent Developments
- July 2026 (2026-07-01): Notion released Notion 3.6 with External Agents, allowing Claude and Cursor to join workflows alongside human teammates, plus speaker-labeled AI Meeting Notes and interactive HTML blocks.
- July 2026 (2026-07-08): Notion released the Notion Agents iOS app, letting users hand off tasks to agents from mobile.
- January 26, 2026: Notion closed a $270 million private tender offer at an $11 billion valuation, with GIC joining returning investors Sequoia Capital and Index Ventures.
- September 18, 2025: Notion launched Notion 3.0 at the “Make with Notion” event, rebuilding Notion AI as Agents capable of up to 20 minutes of autonomous work per task.
- September 18, 2025: Notion told CNBC it had crossed $500 million in annualized revenue, ranking 34th on the 2025 Disruptor 50 list.
- January 17, 2024: Notion Calendar launched on Mac, Windows, iOS, and the web, the product form of the Cron app Notion acquired in 2022.
Notion Funding History and Investors
- Notion has raised about $330 million in total funding since inception (CNBC, September 2025).
- Series C in October 2021 was $275 million at a $10 billion valuation, led by Sequoia Capital and Coatue Management.
- In January 2026, tender offer moved $270 million at an $11 billion transaction valuation but was not primary capital.
- Kothari told CNBC the company holds more cash on hand than the $330 million it has raised to date.
| Round | Date | Amount | Valuation | Lead / joining investors |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series C | October 2021 | $275 million | $10 billion | Sequoia Capital, Coatue Management |
| Secondary (Cron acquisition) | June 2022 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Notion acquired Cron |
| Employee tender | January 26, 2026 | $270 million | $11 billion | GIC, Sequoia, Index Ventures |
Source: Notion Labs company blog (June 2022, January 2026) and Notion press release via GlobeNewswire (October 2021).
Worth noting: Notion has not raised new primary capital since its $275 million October 2021 Series C, per CNBC. A company that clears $500 million in annualized revenue while burning no new dilution is running on operating cash, one of the harder benchmarks in enterprise SaaS to reach without an IPO on the near horizon.
Where Notion’s AI Money Is Actually Coming From
- AI-enabled customers: more than 50% of ARR at end of 2025.
- Implied AI-enabled ARR share at end of the prior year: less than 25% (from the “more than doubled” language).
- Agent runtime per task: up to 20 minutes across hundreds of pages.
- Custom Agents pricing: $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits after a free trial.
- Notion AI is gated to Business and Enterprise plans, per the Notion Help Center.
- The AI mix at end of 2025 more than doubled over the prior twelve-month period.
- Agent context sources include the user’s workspace plus Slack, Google Drive, and GitHub, always within user permissions.
Notion 3.0 extends AI beyond one-off answers to agents capable of multi-step work on a user’s own workspace and connected tools. The single sharpest inflection Notion has publicly disclosed since its Series C is that AI adoption now drives most of ARR growth.
What’s changed: Notion said its 2025 growth rate accelerated on AI adoption, with more than 50% of ARR from AI-enabled customers by year-end and a new office in Singapore alongside Tokyo, Seoul, and Sydney. That is the single sharpest inflection Notion has publicly disclosed since its 2021 Series C.
Notion Plan Structure and What’s Included
- Notion sells four plan tiers: Free, Plus, Business, and Enterprise.
- The pricing page promises up to 20% savings on annual billing.
- Notion AI is available only on Business and Enterprise plans; Free and Plus users receive a limited number of complimentary AI responses.
- Custom Agents run on a metered plan of $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits after the free trial.
| Plan | Notion AI access | Selected features |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Complimentary AI responses only | Basic forms, basic sites, Notion Calendar, databases |
| Plus | Complimentary AI responses only | Paid upgrade over Free; up to 20% off on annual billing |
| Business | Full Notion AI (Agent, Enterprise Search) | Team AI workspace with Notion AI included |
| Enterprise | Full Notion AI + zero data retention with LLM providers | SCIM user provisioning, audit log, dedicated CSM |
Source: Notion Labs pricing page and Notion AI FAQ (Notion Help Center), retrieved September 2026.
Notion’s Named Enterprise Customers
- Named corporate clients cited by Notion during its September 2025 CNBC interview include Kaiser Permanente, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Nvidia, and Volvo Cars.
- Notion’s own customers page currently features named case studies for Remote, Baseten, Cursor, and Ramp.
- Ramp reports a 70% cut in productivity-tool costs after standardizing on Notion.
- Akshay Kothari told CNBC roughly 90% of Notion’s business comes from “multiplayer usage,” or teams of workers.
| Customer | Sector | Reported outcome or role |
|---|---|---|
| Kaiser Permanente | Healthcare | Named enterprise customer |
| Mitsubishi Heavy Industries | Industrial | Named enterprise customer |
| Nvidia | Semiconductors | Named enterprise customer |
| Volvo Cars | Automotive | Named enterprise customer |
| Ramp | Fintech | 70% cut in productivity-tool costs |
| Cursor | Developer tools | Featured customer story |
Source: CNBC interview with Akshay Kothari (September 2025) and Notion Labs customers page (September 2026).
Notion Product Launch Timeline
- Notion was founded in 2013 and launched the first version of its product in 2016.
- Notion 2.0 shipped in 2018 with a Product Hunt launch that Notion credits as the first sign of traction.
- On June 9, 2022, Notion acquired the Cron calendar app.
- Notion Calendar launched on Mac, Windows, iOS, and the web on January 17, 2024.
- Notion 3.0 launched on September 18, 2025, rebuilding Notion AI as Agents.
- Notion 3.6 shipped in July 2026, adding External Agents (Claude and Cursor supported first).
Global Footprint and Where Growth Is Coming From
- 80% of Notion users were international at the October 2021 Series C.
- Users were spread across 28 countries at the Series C moment.
- Daily active users grew 4x worldwide that year.
- Japan posted 500% DAU growth in the same year, with 1,000+ Japanese startups already using Notion.
- Notion opened a Singapore office in 2025, joining regional offices in Tokyo, Seoul, and Sydney.
Notion’s January 2026 tender-offer post described 2025 growth as “happening globally, especially in the Asia-Pacific region,” and cited the Singapore office opening as evidence. That extends a pattern Notion established four years earlier at Series C, when it disclosed 80% international users across 28 countries.
The takeaway: Notion crossed the international-first threshold well before scale, with 80% international users across 28 countries at Series C. Its 2025 disclosure that APAC is the current growth engine extends that pattern rather than reversing it.
Headcount, Cash on Hand, and Zero Outside Capital
- Employees: about 1,000 as of September 2025.
- Total capital raised: about $330 million since inception.
- Annualized revenue per employee: about $500,000.
- In January 2026, Tender waived the one-year vesting cliff so almost every current employee could participate.
Notion has about 1,000 employees as of September 2025, per CNBC’s interview with Akshay Kothari, and has raised roughly $330 million in total funding since inception. Kothari told CNBC the company holds more cash on hand than the $330 million it has raised to date.
Notion vs Microsoft 365 and the Productivity Competition
- CNBC’s September 2025 report on Notion’s revenue was framed around looming competition from Microsoft and its Microsoft 365 productivity suite.
- Notion’s Agent draws context from connected tools including Slack and Google Drive within a user’s own permissions. That connected-workspace footprint puts Notion in the same enterprise-productivity arena as incumbents like Amazon.
- Notion’s named enterprise roster of Kaiser Permanente, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Nvidia, and Volvo Cars overlaps with what other hyperscalers pitch on productivity stacks.
- Notion 3.0 frames itself as an AI workspace where an Agent can execute multi-step workflows across hundreds of pages, databases, and connected tools, alongside general generative AI adoption.
Is Notion Still Growing?
Notion’s own guidance to CNBC in September 2025 was that revenue would double this year, with sales headcount planned to double next year.
The clearest external signal is that Notion chose an employee liquidity event over a primary raise. The AI-enabled ARR share, more than 50% at year-end 2025, is the metric to watch. If it holds or grows, the $11 billion valuation is a floor rather than a ceiling.
Conclusion
Notion crossed 100 million users in August 2024, cleared $500 million in annualized revenue by September 2025, and was valued at $11 billion in the January 2026 employee tender that brought GIC in alongside Sequoia and Index Ventures. The most consequential number underneath those headlines is Notion’s own disclosure that AI-enabled customers now generate more than 50% of ARR. For a private company with no filing obligations and a decade-old founding date, that mix of self-funded scale and a genuinely AI-driven revenue base is the rare combination the current productivity-software market rewards.
































































